My first homegrown asparagus!

9 Feb

20130209-154815.jpg

So here’s the first guy of the season! My first year harvesting since buying the little plants a few years ago. I snapped this one off about 8 inches tall. They grow pretty quickly and once they’re ferning out they are beyond eating I believe.

20130209-155116.jpg

20130209-155153.jpg

These ones are just little guys. Hopefully I will get some more as spring rolls around 🙂

3 Responses to “My first homegrown asparagus!”

  1. georeid March 3, 2013 at 10:00 pm #

    Started growing asparagus in pots recently myself. Stumbled across your blog while looking for… Well, to see I wasn’t alone!
    Happy growing!
    Also, other than your blog, do you keep a garden journal at all?
    J

    • Winci March 3, 2013 at 10:52 pm #

      Good luck with your asparagus. I just ate my second pencil sized asparagus today 🙂 No journal. I tried, but the blog works out better as I can post pics easily.

      • JR March 4, 2013 at 3:06 am #

        Good idea! I just created a Google+ page. Gave you a link (http://bit.ly/JRgarden) Happy gardening!

Leave a Reply

