Are these “wild” artichokes?

7 May

These are the artichokes growing next to the sidewalk on my walk to school.

No one is harvesting them so I guess I’ll be able to watch them flower ­čÖé

20120507-153719.jpg

20120507-153727.jpg

Some more by the tree.

20120507-153813.jpg

2 Responses to “Are these “wild” artichokes?”

  1. Angie May 17, 2012 at 6:56 pm #

    I think those are Cardoons. You can’t prepare them like artichokes, so you may want to google and learn about them if you are thinking about trying them. I’ve never had cardoon either. I considered growing one this summer after I saw the plant in a nursery, but I read a bit about the preparation process and it looks to be more involved than I”m interested in right now. However, it may be right up your alley – but I would start my own plants and not eat those beside the road in case that town sprays chemicals on them. Enjoy =)

    • Winci May 17, 2012 at 7:08 pm #

      Thanks for the info! I will read up about them now, luckily wasn’t planning on touching those street ones as you are right, have no idea what kinda chemicals may have been sprayed on them.

Leave a Reply

