Two lucky Globe Artichokes.

26 Apr

On my walk to class, I always check out the local gardens in the Clairemont neighborhood as the weather is slightly different there than coastal SD even though it’s only 5 miles from the coast. There are more canyons and cliffs here and there and on a hilly area between two detached houses, I saw some leafy plants which I recognize to be artichokes. I wonder if they were wild ones or ones that were planted by one of the adjacent house but I have heard of wild artichokes growing in So Cal.
Anyway, earlier this week, I noticed that flower buds were popping up on these “wild” chokes so when I got home, I checked on my little babies, i wasn’t expecting much as overall, my plants haven’t been that healthy. But lo and behold, here are my own homegrown little chokes peeping out!

I bought these artichoke plants in a tiny six pack probably last year some time and have had a lot of issues with the leaves dying on me. The plant will look really healthy but then yellow spots appear on the leaves and they eventually die.

So out of the six little plants, three are doing really well, and two have little artichoke flowers developing. Hopefully, after I harvest the center choke, other ones will start growing from the side.

20120426-112210.jpg

20120426-112222.jpg

20120426-112231.jpg

20120426-112238.jpg

Leave a Reply

