Potting up container Fruit trees. Hopefully doing it right this time!

21 Feb

20120220-210125.jpg

Some of my container fruit trees look so sad. Even though I gave them a larger pot and fresh dirt a year ago. I had to investigate what was happening underneath the soil as I leaves kept dropping no matter what I sprayed or how much a fertilized (without over fertilizing).

When I took them out of the pots, i was sad to see some of the poor trees root were still in the shape of their previous pots 😦 this meant 1)I hadn’t done it properly and/or 2) I didn’t change the pot soon enough.

I need to read up some more about potting up but I remember seeing videos about using a fork to tease out the roots do I did that. I also carefully removed the old dirt from the root ball.

I noticed some dirt was thick like dark clay, and some other parts was dry and crumbly. I don’t think thats a good sign!

Hopefully I didn’t mess too much with the roots to distress the trees too much.

Here are my two trees that had the saddest roots.

20120220-205834.jpg

20120220-205843.jpg

20120220-205900.jpg

20120220-210102.jpg

20120220-210228.jpg

Leave a Reply

