Container Asparagus loves the Sun

21 Jun
20110621-085127.jpg

My potted asparagus thriving in the sun.

 

I had to move my asparagus from my apartment door step to somewhere sunny as during the summer, I do not get much sun right outside my west facing door, which is good for keeping the apartment cool, but not so good for the plants.

So this giant pot is hiding in the landscaping downstairs… I doubt anyone would try to take it as to be honest… The crazy asparagus fern hair isn’t that attractive.

It seems to enjoying the extra sunshine hours. I wish I got some pix of the new spears coming out before they ferned out to show just how close to edible size they are! I’m sure next year I will be harvesting my own edible spears. Exciting!

20110627-041935.jpg

20110627-041948.jpg

My potted asparagus thriving in the sun. New spears ferning out

 

20110627-041956.jpg

My potted asparagus thriving in the sun. New spears ferning out

 

2 Responses to “Container Asparagus loves the Sun”

  1. Dijay July 27, 2011 at 3:34 pm #

    do you have a good harvest doing the asparagus in pots?
    I have them in the ground and am only fairly satisfied. the weeds take over too fast and the asp goes to seed overnight.

    Your site is very interesting!
    Di/SC

    • Winci July 28, 2011 at 2:53 pm #

      Hi there! Glad you like my site!
      I am yet to harvest any asparagus yet as the plants are still young. Maybe next year I will try. I have only had them for two years and I think usually you can harvest on the third year.
      I get weeds in my containers too, you just have to keep a look out for them and pull them out 🙂

Leave a Reply

