Blanching Cauliflower

24 Apr

I was wondering when to harvest my cauliflower as the little heads are getting bigger – about 2-3 inches across. After a bit of googling, I found out I was supposed to blanch them when they reached 2-3 inches across – How convenient!  Then to harvest a week or two after blanching.

So here are my blanching cauliflowers. Not sure if I’m doing the right thing so any advise would be gladly received! Just post a comment 🙂

This is my first time growing cauliflower. I was pleasantly surprised to see that the plants are producing heads yet are still quite small compared to the Romanesco Broccoli which is supposedly is actually a cauliflower and not a broccoli. The whole plant is about a foot and half across.

20110424-015823.jpg

Blanching Cauliflower. I used sewing thread and tied up the inner leaves that would cover the little head inside

20110424-015851.jpg

Here is a pic of the one of the ones growing in pots.

20110424-015939.jpg

Container Cauliflower

The plant is not as big and there isn’t a head developing yet. All these plant are the same age but there some other stuff sharing the pot with the cauliflower. I have a habit of buying more stuff than I have space for so it ends up like this. I wish I had a giant garden!

Leave a Reply

